Home Forums C Programming Exercise regarding Structures : Need help

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      shubham123
      Participant
      Hello guys, I’m new here.

I’m a Computer Science college freshman and we have an exercise about structures, here are the instructions:

Exercise on structures: CHAPTER 8
      Deadline on Aug 16, 2008 (until 11:59pm)

Define a structure for a rectangle in the cartesian plane whose sides lay parallel to the x- and y- axes, as well as for a point in the same plane (which the rectangle may reuse). Afterwards, define separate functions that take &&&references&&& to such rectangles and then return the following:

– is it a valid rectangle? (0 if not, any other integer if it is) – midpoint (returns a Point)
      – area (returns a float/double)
      – perimeter (returns a float/double)

Define a function that accepts two references to rectangles as parameters, and returns 0 if they don’t overlap, or any other integer if they do.

The driver program must behave similar to the following: %% Provide the x and y coordinates of the lower-left vertex: -12 78 %% (-12,78) defined for lower left vertex. %% … the other vertex is entered

%% Here are the points you’ve defined. %%
      (-12,78) : lower left corner (?) <<<--- verify %% (1,16) : upper right corner (?)%% The points you’ve entered doesn’t appear to belong to a valid rectangle. Enter another? (Y/N): Y%% … the vertices are once again requested
      %% Here are the points you’ve defined. %%
      (1,2) : lower left corner %%
      (5,3) : upper right corner %%

Here are some statistics regarding your rectangle:
      %% The midpoint is at: (3.0,2.5)
      %% The area is: 4.0 sq. units %% The perimeter is: 8.0 units
      %% This is the first rectangle you’ve defined. If you define another, then we can test whether the two overlap. %% Enter another? (Y/N): Y
      %% … define another rect %% … the stats are displayed