Home Forums C Programming clrscr(), window(), textcolor() etc. not in conio.h?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      SylvestQqz
      Participant

Hello, I am a C newbie. I’m trying to recompile some very old C 16 bit programs that are called by a VFP program. The problem is that I need this VFP program to run on a 64 bit machine/ compile at least as 32 bit. My objective is to just get this compiled. I don’t have the time (right now) to dive into lots of work understanding the intricacies of c and c++.So hopefully there is a simple solution that doesn’t involve a lot of rewriting.

I downloaded Visual c++ 2008 express edition, which comes with a command line compiler (cl.exe) I was hoping I could just call
      cl.exe old_c_prog.c and it would work. A few of the programs do. However several of the programs have references to functions like
      clrscr(), window() textcolor(), textbackground,highvideo(), textattr, gotoxy() From the research I did it looks like these functions should be found in conio.h, which I have a #include for. However, I am hazy on this, but it looks as the implementation of conio.h that has these functions is for turbo C?

Is there some other .H file that I can include which supports these old console functions? (and will work with 64 bit machine)

Or maybe there is some other compiler that will work?

GWILouisaxwzkla
      Participant

The functions clrscr(), ect. are exclusive to the Borland Turbo Compiler. I think the easiest way to compile the code would be to download the free Borland Command Line Tools Package ( I think you can find it here: http://edn.embarcadero.com/article/20633 ) or just google free Borland Command Line Tools Package download. You could also write your own replacement functions and add them to the one of the VC++ library ( could code these using Windows API calls for 32-bit Windows applications ).

SylvestQqz
      Participant